ScienceSlam@SC21: Congratulations Ramsha Aasim (Georgia Tech)!

Eight contestants competed for travel awards and more at the second annual STEM-Trek ScienceSlam.

Judges included six families and four experts – they cast their ballots by Monday, October 9. Ramsha Aasim (Georgia Tech) won first place by a landslide, and Badisa Mosesane (U-Botswana) was a clear second. Four were tied for third!

After a final “slam-o-rama” where the audience broke the tie on October 15, Miranda Chidemo (Zimbabwe Centre for HPC) placed third and Ismet Dagli (Colorado School of Mines) came in at fourth. Others who didn’t place won a travel grant and SC21 tech program registration waiver (including workshops and tutorials). The full playlist is available here.

SC is the International Conference for High-Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis.

ScienceSlam@SC20 “legacy” winners were offered registration waivers, and an additional five XSEDE Campus Champions from EPSCoR states – four from Missouri within driving distance of St. Louis where the SC conference convenes November 14-19 – will join this year’s winners. Six will lodge in STEM-Trek’s “UbuntuHouse.” Additionally, STEM-Trek covered the cost for one flight for a student SCinet participant from Texas Tech. Altogether, 19 STEM-Trekkers will attend SC21 – seven virtual, and 12 in-person. Since no submissions were received for our “Pathfinders” contest, funds we had allocated for that event will support student group meals at PEARC22 in Boston, July 10-14, 2022.

We’re still looking for two professional communicators to join us in St. Louis for SC21! If you’re interested or know someone who might be, please ask them to contact us at

Many thanks to all contestants, judges and sponsors.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Awesome! You've decided to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated.

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>